Login |

Aaron Mellette Heads DraftInsiders.com FCS All-America Team

DraftInsiders.com 2012 FCS All-America Team
With position, player, class and school:

Elon senior wide receiver Aaron Mellette picked up his third All-America honor of the year as he was named to the 2012 Associated Press FCS All-America Team on Dec. 12. Mellette has now earned AP All-America honors in three straight seasons, including first-team nods in both 2011 and 2012.

Photo – WR Aaron Mellette – Elon

Mellette was a first-team All-Southern Conference selection by both the league's coaches and media members and placed eighth in the voting for the Walter Payton Award, which is presented annually to the top player in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Sanford, N.C., native concluded the season with a league-leading 108 points and 18 receiving touchdowns. The TD catches are tied for the second-most ever in a single season in SoCon history. In his senior year, Mellette caught 97 passes for 1,398 yards. He led the SoCon and ranked second nationally in both receptions per game (8.82) and receiving yards per game (127.09). He eclipsed 100 receiving yards in eight of Elon's 11 contests, including matching career-highs with 237 yards and three touchdowns against Appalachian State on Oct. 6. Mellette posted a six-game span in which he caught at least two touchdowns. He will participate in the upcoming Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala. on Jan. 26.

For his career in the maroon and gold, Mellette posted 4,254 receiving yards, 304 receptions, 44 touchdown catches and 23 100-yard games. All of those numbers rank second in both Elon and Southern Conference history.

2012 FCS All-America Team
First Team

Quarterback — Casey Brockman, senior, Murray State
Running backs — Miguel Maysonet, senior, 5-10, 205, Stony Brook; Eric Breitenstein, senior, 5-11, 230, Wofford.

Offensive linemen — Earl Watford, senior, 6-4, 290, James Madison; Corey Howard, senior, 6-5, 300, Central Arkansas; Will Post, senior, 6-6, 295, Eastern Washington; Bill Turner, junior, 6-6, 300, North Dakota State; Roger Gaines, senior, 6-6, 320, Tennessee State.

Tight end — Josh Hill, senior,6-4, 230. Idaho State
Receivers — Aaron Mellette, senior, 6-4, 220, Elon; Cordell Roberson, senior, 6-3, 210, Stephen F. Austin

All-purpose player — Walter Powell, junior, 6-0, 180, Murray State.
Kicker — Patrick Murray, senior, 5-7, 160, Fordham.
Punter — Sam Martin, senior, 6-1, 205, Appalachian State.

Linemen —Colton Underwood, junior, 6-4, 255, Illinois State; Brent Russell, senior, 6-2, 300, Georgia Southern; Mike Catapano, senior, 6-3, 270, Princeton; Brandon Thurmond, senior, 6-2, 260, Arkansas-Pine Bluff.

Linebackers — Matt Evans, senior, 6-0, 228, New Hampshire; Keith Pough, senior, 6-1, 235, Howard; Jody Owens, senior, 6-0, 223, Montana State

Defensive backs — Darnell Taylor, senior, 6-0, 195, Sam Houston State; Marcus Williams, junior, 5-11, 194, North Dakota State; Robert Alford, senior,5-11, 185, Southeastern Louisiana; Cooper Taylor, senior, 6-5, 235, Richmond

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 18 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.