Login |

Griffin, Luck & Richardson Win Major 2011 College Awards

Griffin, Luck and Richardson among Award Recipients at The Home Depot College Football Awards

Quarterbacks Robert Griffin III of Baylor and Andrew Luck of Stanford, along with Alabama running back Trent Richardson each claimed top awards during the 21st annual The Home Depot College Football Awards hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Erin Andrews on ESPN Thursday night live from the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Photo – QB Robert Griffin - Baylor

Heisman finalists Luck won the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year; Griffin earned the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's most outstanding quarterback; and Richardson won the Doak Walker Award for the nation's most outstanding running back. LSU's cornerback, Tyrann Mathieu, a sophomore from New Orleans, LA, also a Heisman finalist, won the Chuck Bednarik Award for the college defensive player of the year.

Other notable awards included the presentation of LSU coach Les Miles with The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award and Northwestern State University senior linebacker Yaser Elqutub as the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain- a community service award determined by college football fan voters for the work players conduct off the field.

Frank Coyle's Individual Player Voting 2011 Season
Heisman Trophy Vote - QB Andrew Luck - Stanford
Jim Thorpe Vote - CB Morris Claiborne - LSU
Nagurski Vote - CB Morris Claiborne - LSU
Lombardi Vote - OT Matt Kalil - Southern Cal
Outland Vote - OT Jonathan Martin - Stanford

Award / Presented By
Finalists and Winner

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
ESPN Analyst Matt Millen

Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu. LSU - WINNER
Devon Still, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Receiver
Fred Biletnikoff*

Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State (2010 award winner) - WINNER
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Robert Woods, USC

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Placekicker
Judd Groza (son of Lou Groza)

Randy Bullock, Texas A&M - WINNER
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Ray Guy Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Punter
Ray Guy*

Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech - WINNER
Steven Clark, Auburn
Jackson Rice, Oregon

Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Herschel Walker* (1982 winner)

Andrew Luck, Stanford - WINNER
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Trent Richardson, Alabama

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation's Best Quarterback
Jim McMahon* (1981 winner)

Robert Griffin III, Baylor - WINNER
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford

Outland Trophy
Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
ESPN Analyst Mark May* (1980 winner)

David DeCastro, Stanford
Barrett Jones, Alabama - WINNER
Devon Still, Penn State

Jim Thorpe Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Defensive Back
Governor Bill Anoatubby

David Amerson, NC State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Morris Claiborne, LSU - WINNER

Doak Walker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Running Back
Calvin Hill

Montee Ball, Wisconsin
LaMichael James, Oregon (2010 award winner)
Trent Richardson, Alabama - WINNER

The Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year
Andrew Luck, Stanford

*College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team, including the Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year, Andrew Luck:

Player / Team
Player of the Year

Presented by Lincoln Kennedy (1992 All-America Team)

QB Andrew Luck - Stanford

Offensive Team
Andrew Luck - Stanford

Running Backs
LaMichael James - Oregon
Trent Richardson - Alabama

Wide Receivers
Justin Blackmon - Oklahoma St
Ryan Broyles - Oklahoma

Tight End
Tyler Eifert - Notre Dame

Offensive Linemen
OG David DeCastro - Stanford
OG Barrett Jones - Alabama
OT Matt Kalil - USC
OT Jonathan Martin - Stanford
OC David Molk - Michigan

Defensive Team
Defensive Linemen
Melvin Ingram - South Carolina
Whitney Mercilus - Illinois
Devon Still - Penn State
Jerel Worth - Michigan State

Dont'a Hightower - Alabama
Jarvis Jones - Georgia
Luke Kuechly- Boston College

Defensive Backs
David Amerson - N.C. State
Mark Barron - Alabama
Morris Claiborne - LSU
Tyrann Mathieu - LSU

Special Team
Placekicker - Randy Bullock - Texas A&M
Punter - Shawn Powell - Florida State
Punt Returner - Tyler Lockett - Kansas State

Several other awards were recognized during this year's show, several of which were announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show hosted by Erin Andrews, Tom Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah on ESPNU:

* Rimington Trophy (nation's most outstanding center) David Molk - Michigan

* John Mackey Award (nation's most outstanding tight end): Dwayne Alle - Clemson

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Thorpe etc for the past 18 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game.