Login |

Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017 - List of Semifinalists


Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017 - List of Semifinalists

Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017 was reduced to 26 candidates this week from 94 nominees. The 26 semifinalists will be trimmed to 15 finalists in early January 2017. The current group includes 15 offensive, eight defensive stalwarts one kicker and two coaches.

Photo – RB LaDainian Tomlinson - Chargers

Pro Prospect Fall 2016 Rankings - NFL Draft 2017 – Free for Subscribers - available now

Among the first-year eligibles, former San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson is the headliner. Tomlinson is a back I recommended to the Senior Bowl committee for the 2001 All-star event. He was a complete prospect coming out of TCU who performed in an option attack. He was an instant hit with the Chargers and one of the most productive and durable backs in recent history. He also has been one of the NFL’s model citizens and a generous donator to many charities.

In 2006, he won the NFL Most Valuable Player award and went on to be a five-time Pro Bowl selection and six-time All-Pro during 11 seasons with the Chargers and New York Jets. He ranks 5th in career rushing yards (13,684), 7th in all-purpose yards (18,456) and 3rd in TDs (162).

Other first-year eligibles include safety Brian Dawkins, wide receiver Hines Ward and defensive end Jason Taylor. They will be joined by 2016 finalists such as Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Terrell Owens, John Lynch and Don Coryell.

Davis, the former Denver Broncos running back, has made the semifinalist list 11 times, the most of any nominee this year. He was a low 6th round pick out of Georgia who made the Broncos on his special teams’ coverage ability. At Georgia, he backed up future Pro Bowl runner Garrison Hearst after transferring.

Davis, Warner and Owens will warrant strong consideration after highly productive and visible and sometimes controversial careers. The list will be reduced to 15 finalists and will join senior Finalist Kenny Easley and 2017 Contributor Finalists Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue when the 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee meets to vote on the eve of Super Bowl LI.

Complete List of Semifinalists - Career Years and Teams Played for
(listed in alphabetical order):
* First year eligible players # 2016 Finalists

1. Morten Anderson, kicker (New Orleans Saints, 1982-1994; Atlanta Falcons, 1995-2000; 2006-07; New York Giants, 2001; Kansas City Chiefs, 2002-03; Minnesota Vikings, 2004)
2. Steve Atwater, safety (Denver Broncos, 1989-1998; New York Jets, 1999)
3. Tony Boselli, offensive tackle (Jacksonville Jaguars, 1995-2001; Houston Texans, 2002)
4. Isaac Bruce, wide receiver (Los Angeles Rams, 1994; St. Louis Rams, 1995-2007; San Francisco 49ers, 2008-09)
5. # Don Coryell, coach (St. Louis Cardinals, 1973-77; San Diego Chargers, 1978-1986)
6. Roger Craig, running back (San Francisco 49ers, 1983-1990; Los Angeles Raiders, 1991; Minnesota Vikings, 1992-93)
7. # Terrell Davis, running back (Denver Broncos, 1995-2001)
8. * Brian Dawkins, safety (Philadelphia Eagles, 1996-2008; Denver Broncos, 2009-2011)
9. Alan Faneca, guard (Pittsburgh Steelers, 1998-2007; New York Jets, 2008-09; Arizona Cardinals, 2010)
10. Chris Hinton, offensive tackle/guard (Baltimore Colts, 1983; Indianapolis Colts, 1984-89; Atlanta Falcons, 1990-93; Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95)
11. Torry Holt, wide receiver (St. Louis Rams, 1999-2008; Jacksonville Jaguars, 2009)
12. Joe Jacoby, offensive tackle (Washington Redskins, 1981-1993)
13. Edgerrin James, running back (Indianapolis Colts, 1999-2005; Arizona Cardinals, 2006-08; Seattle Seahawks, 2009)
14. Jimmy Johnson, coach (Dallas Cowboys, 1989-1993; Miami Dolphins, 1996-99)
15. Mike Kenn, offensive tackle (Atlanta Falcons, 1978-1994)
16. Ty Law, cornerback (New England Patriots, 1995-2004; New York Jets, 2005, '08; Kansas City Chiefs, 2006-07; Denver Broncos, 2009)
17. # John Lynch, safety (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1993-2003; Denver Broncos, 2004-07)
18. Clay Matthews, linebacker (Cleveland Browns, 1978-1993; Atlanta Falcons, 1994-96)
19. Kevin Mawae, center (Seattle Seahawks, 1994-97; New York Jets, 1998-2005; Tennessee Titans, 2006-09)
20. Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker (Denver Broncos, 1983-1994)
21. # Terrell Owens, wide receiver (San Francisco 49ers, 1996-2003; Philadelphia Eagles, 2004-05; Dallas Cowboys, 2006-08; Buffalo Bills, 2009; Cincinnati Bengals, 2010)
22. * Jason Taylor, defensive end (Miami Dolphins, 1997-2007, '09, 2011; Washington Redskins, 2008; New York Jets, 2010)
23. * LaDainian, Tomlinson, running back (San Diego Chargers, 2001-09; New York Jets, 2010-11)
24. * Hines Ward, wide receiver (Pittsburgh Steelers, 1998-2011)
25. # Kurt Warner, quarterback (St. Louis Rams, 1998-2003; New York Giants, 2004; Arizona Cardinals, 2005-09)
26. Darren Woodson, safety (Dallas Cowboys, 1992-2003)

Frank Coyle is a long time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe, Biletnikoff etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites