Login |

QB Robert Griffin III Wins 2011 Heisman Trophy

Robert Griffin Becomes First Baylor Player to Win Heisman Award

Photo - QB Robert Griffin - Baylor

Robert Griffin III took home the 2011 Heisman Trophy, completing an impressive year at Baylor. Griffin came on strong to end the season with several impressive performances. He beat out Andrew Luck and Trent Richardson in a close voting race. Andrew Luck finished second for the second straight year.

Griffin III picked up 1,678 points to take college football's top individual honor. Griffin carried five of the six regions, with Luck taking the Far West. Luck finished second in the voting with 1,407 points. Trent Richardson finished a distant third, and Montee Ball and Tyrann Mathieu finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Griffin had a surprisingly strong showing in the southeast that elevated him in the voting significantly.

Heisman Voting Breakdown
Robert Griffin III - 1,678 points, 405 first-place votes
Andrew Luck - 1,407 points, 247 first-place votes
Trent Richardson - 978 points, 138 first-place votes
Montee Ball - 348 points, 22 first-place votes
Tyrann Mathieu - 327 points, 34 first-place votes

Matt Barkley finished sixth, Case Keenum was seventh, Kellen Moore was eighth, Russell Wilson was ninth and Lamichael James was 10th.

Heisman Trophy All-time Winners
2011—Robert Griffin III, Baylor
2010—Cam Newton, Auburn, QB
2009—Mark Ingram, Alabama, RB
2008—Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, QB
2007—Tim Tebow, Florida, QB
2006—Troy Smith, Ohio State, QB
2005—Vacated (Reggie Bush, Southern Cal, RB )
2004—Matt Leinart, Southern Cal, QB
2003—Jason White, Oklahoma, QB
2002—Carson Palmer, Southern Cal, QB
2001—Eric Crouch, Nebraska, QB
2000—Chris Weinke, Florida St., QB
1999—Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, RB
1998—Ricky Williams, Texas, RB
1997—Charles Woodson, Michigan, CB
1996—Danny Wuerffel, Florida, QB
1995—Eddie George, Ohio State, TB
1994—Rashaan Salaam, Colorado, RB
1993—Charlie Ward, Florida State, QB
1992—Gino Torretta, Miami, QB
1991—Desmond Howard, Michigan, WR
1990—Ty Detmer, Brigham Young, QB
1989—Andre Ware, Houston, QB
1988—Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State, RB
1987—Tim Brown, Notre Dame, WR
1986—Vinny Testaverde, Miami, QB
1985—Bo Jackson, Auburn, TB
1984—Doug Flutie, Boston College, QB
1983—Mike Rozier, Nebraska, TB
1982—Herschel Walker, Georgia, HB
1981—Marcus Allen, Southern Cal, TB
1980—George Rogers, South Carolina, HB
1979—Charles White, Southern Cal, TB
1978—Billy Sims, Oklahoma, HB
1977—Earl Campbell, Texas, FB
1976—Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh, HB
1975—Archie Griffin, Ohio State, HB
1974—Archie Griffin, Ohio State, HB
1973—John Cappelletti, Penn State, HB
1972—Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska, FL
1971—Pat Sullivan, Auburn, QB
1970—Jim Plunkett, Stanford, QB
1969—Steve Owens, Oklahoma, HB
1968—O.J. Simpson, Southern Cal, TB
1967—Gary Beban, UCLA, QB
1966—Steve Spurrier, Florida, QB
1965—Mike Garrett, Southern Cal, TB
1964—John Huarte, Notre Dame, QB
1963—Roger Staubach, Navy, QB
1962—Terry Baker, Oregon State, QB
1961—Ernie Davis, Syracuse, HB
1960—Joe Bellino, Navy, HB
1959—Billy Cannon, LSU, HB
1958—Pete Dawkins, Army, HB
1957—John David Crow, Texas A&M, HB
1956—Paul Hornung, Notre Dame, QB
1955—Howard Cassady, Ohio State, HB
1954—Alan Ameche, Wisconsin, FB
1953—John Lattner, Notre Dame, HB
1952—Billy Vessels, Oklahoma, HB
1951—Dick Kazmaier, Princeton, HB
1950—Vic Janowicz, Ohio State, HB
1949—Leon Hart, Notre Dame, E
1948—Doak Walker, SMU, HB
1947—John Lujack, Notre Dame, QB
1946—Glenn Davis, Army, HB
1945—Doc Blanchard, Army, HB
1944—Les Horvath, Ohio State, QB
1943—Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame, QB
1942—Frank Sinkwich, Georgia, HB
1941—Bruce Smith, Minnesota, HB
1940—Tom Harmon, Michigan, HB
1939—Nile Kinnick, Iowa, HB
1938—Davey O'Brien, Texas Christian, QB
1937—Clint Frank, Yale, HB
1936—Larry Kelley, Yale, E
1935—Jay Berwanger, Chicago, HB

Frank Coyle writes ‘College Football Monday’ weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He is also a member of the FWAA and voter in College team and player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Thorpe, etc. He is a voter for weekly Team and Player Awards