Login |

Ted Hendricks Defensive End Award Watch List

2009 Ted Hendricks Defensive End Award Watch List

DE Jerry Hughes – Texas Christian

TCU consensus All-American Jerry Hughes has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2009 Ted Hendricks Award, presented to the nation's top defensive end. Hughes was a finalist for the 2008 Ted Hendricks Award and was also one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, recognizing the nation's best defensive player.
Draft Insiders.com ranks Hughes as the No. 3 defensive end available for the 2010 NFL Draft. Hughes also appears on watch lists for the Rotary Lombardi Award and Lott Trophy. Hughes led the nation in 2008 with 15 sacks and six forced fumbles. The 6’3” 257lb. senior from Sugar Land, Tx., also ranked in the top 10 in tackles for loss (19.5) and fumble recoveries (three). He added two interceptions, including one returned for a TD.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football¹s first three-time first-team All-American. After his standout career at Miami (Fl.), Hendricks played 15 years in the National Football League. He earned selection to both the College and Pro Football Hall of Fame. Now in its eighth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, he used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be defensive end.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: Terrell Suggs (Arizona St), David Pollack (Georgia), Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), Chris Long (Virginia) and Brian Orakpo (Texas).

This year's pre-season candidates include, but are not limited to the following players:

Rahim Alem, LSU
Trevor Anderson, Michigan St
Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma
Alex Carrington, Arkansas St
Antonio Coleman, Auburn
Jermaine Cunningham, Florida
Dexter Davis, Arizona St
Auston English, Oklahoma
Brandon Graham, Michigan
Greg Hardy, Ole Miss
Jerry Hughes, TCU
Jan Jorgensen, BYU
Sergio Kindle, Texas
Jammie Kirlew, Indiana
Brandon Lang, Troy
Eric Lorig, Stanford
Greg Middleton, Indiana
Koa Misi, Utah
Dontay Moch, Nevada
Eric Moncur, Miami
Doug Pilcher, Illinois
James Ruffin, Northern Iowa
George Selvie, South Florida
Will Tukuafu, Oregon
Lawrence Wilson, Ohio St
C.J. Wilson, East Carolina
Lindsey Witten, Connecticut
Corey Wootton, Northwestern
Willie Young, N.C. St
Frank Zombo, Central Michigan

NOTE: This list is subject to change until the Final Mid-Season Watch List is issued in November. Players may be added or deleted, depending on performance, injury or other circumstances. The 2009 winner will be announced on December 9.