Login |

UNI's James Ruffin Chosen for East-West Game

UNI's James Ruffin Chosen for East-West Game
85th Annual East-West Shrine Game

Photo - DE James Ruffin - Northern Iowa

University of Northern Iowa senior defensive end James Ruffin has been selected to play in the East-West Shrine Game. Ruffin is a strong candidate this year for the Buck Buchanan Award, the Defensive Player of the Year award for the subdivision level. He will travel to Orlando, Fla., to take part in the East-West Shrine Game which is set for Jan. 23, 2010, at the Florida Citrus Bowl. It is the first year in Orlando after several years in Houston, Texas after a long history in San Francisco as the oldest All-star classic in college football. The game will be televised on ESPN2.
Ruffin leads the Missouri Valley Football Conference in sacks and ranks No. 9 in the nation (0.95 sacks/game). He has totaled 44 tackles with 9.5 sacks, 12 TFL and 2 forced fumbles in a dominant performance in the Missouri Valley Conference. He earned Defensive Player of the Year in 2008 for an outstanding overall performance. Ruffin is one of five players currently on the East-West roster from the lower level of play. He becomes the third UNI Panther football player to be selected to play in the East-West Shrine Game through the years. The two previous players (Brad Meester in 2000 and Chad Setterstrom in 2002) each went on to play in the National Football League.

East-West Shrine Game Roster (early invitees)

East Roster -
First Name / Last Name / Position / School

Ali Villanuea - Tight End - Army
Dan Lefevour - Quarterback - Central Michigan University
Thomas Austin - Offensive Guard - Clemson University
Kavell Conner - Inside Linebacker - Clemson University
Vince Oghobaase - Defensive Tackle - Duke University
Van Eskridge - Free Safety - East Carolina University
John Skelton - Quarterback - Fordham University
Akwasi Owusu-Ansah - Cornerback - Indiana University of Pa
Jamar Chaney - Inside Linebacker - Mississippi St University
Ted Larsen - Center - North Carolina St University
Willie Young - Defensive End - North Carolina St University
Arthur Jones - Defensive Tackle - Syracuse University
Andre Roberts - Wide Receiver - The Citadel
Brandon Lang - Defensive End - Troy University
Cameron Sheffield - Outside Linebacker - Troy University
Andre Anderson - Running Back - Tulane University
Mitch Petrus - Offensive Guard - University of Arkansas
Torell Troup - Defensive Tackle - University of Central Florida
Lindsey Witten - Defensive End - University of Connecticut
Jon Asamoah - Offensive Guard - University of Illinois
Michael Hoomanawanui - Tight End - University of Illinois
Terrell Skinner - Free Safety - University of Maryland
Darryl Sharpton - Inside Linebacker - University of Miami
Nate Byham - Tight End - University of Pittsburgh
Kion Wilson - Inside Linebacker - University of South Florida
Chris Scott - Offensive Tackle - University of Tennessee
O'Brien Schofield - Outside Linebacker - University of Wisconsin
Barry Church - Strong Safety - University of Toledo
Ed Wang - Offensive Tackle - Virginia Tech
Brandon Ghee - Cornerback - Wake Forest University

West Roster -
First Name / Last Name / Position / School

Tony Washington - Offensive Tackle - Abilene Christian University
Chris Thomas - Safety - Air Force Academy
Dexter Davis - Outside Linebacker - Arizona St University
Chris McGaha - Wide Receiver - Arizona St University
Joe Pawelek - Inside Linebacker - Baylor University
J.D. Walton - Center - Baylor University
Max Hall - Quarterback - Brigham Young University
Shelley Smith - Offensive Guard - Colorado St University
Seyi Ajirotutu - Wide Receiver - Fresno St University
Robert Malone - Punter - Fresno St University
Lonyae Miller - Running Back - Fresno St University
Reggie Stephens - Offensive Guard - Iowa St University
Perrish Cox - Cornerback - Oklahoma St University
Zac Robinson - Quarterback - Oklahoma St University
Erik Lorig - Defensive End - Stanford University
Ekom Udofia - Defensive Tackle - Stanford University
Jerry Hughes - Outside Linebacker - Texas Christian University
Daryl Washington - Inside Linebacker - Texas Christian University
Brandon Carter - Offensive Guard - Texas Tech University
Earl Mitchell - Defensive Tackle - University of Arizona
Devin Ross - Cornerback - University of Arizona
Tyson Alualu - Defensive Tackle - University of California
Mike Tepper - Offensive Tackle - University of California
Syd'Quan Thompson - Cornerback - University of California
Verran Tucker - Wide Receiver - University of California
Ryan Moya - Fullback - UCLA
Alterraun Verner - Cornerback - UCLA
Danario Alexander - Wide Receiver - University of Missouri
Larry Asante - Strong Safety - University of Nebraska
James Ruffin - Defensive End - University of Northern Iowa
Auston English - Defensive End - University of Oklahoma
TJ Ward - Free Safety - University of Oregon
Joshua Pinkard - Free Safety - University of Southern California
Zane Beadles - Offensive Tackle - University of Utah
Kenny Alfred - Center - Washington St University

Frank Coyle is a consultant for several All-star games including the Senior Bowl. He is a longtime Member of the FWAA and voter in College team and player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Thorpe, etc. He is a voter for different weekly Team and Player Awards.