Patriots Win 6th Super Bowl in Defensive Battle

Patriots Win 6th Super Bowl in Defensive Battle

New England Defeats Rams in 13-3 Title Game

Frank Coyle – Head Scout

The NE Patriots beat the LA Rams in the lowest scoring Super Bowl in history to win their 6th Super Bowl title. The Patriots win matched the Pittsburgh Steelers for the most SB victories in history. It was the 6th SB win for the 41 year old QB Tom Brady who passed former LB Charles Haley who had 5 Super Bowl rings. In an era of explosive offenses, the title game became a defensive battle where HC Bill Belichick designed a brilliant game plan to smother the Rams’ young QB Jared Goff. The Patriots coach never allowed Goff to settle into the pocket and presented a diverse blitz package that forced the third year pro Goff to constantly move in the pocket. Goff completed only 19 of 38 passes for 229 yards and 1 critical 4th quarter interception that virtually sealed the game for the Pats.

 Draft Insiders’ 2019 Feb. Newsletter is available this week – Order Today
In-Depth Evaluation of Senior Bowl & East-West Shrine Weeks
Two Round Mock Draft & New Top 100 Pro Prospect Rankings

Patriots QB Tom Brady had a decent performance as a game manager, though he failed to put up big numbers. He went 21 for 35 passing for 253 yards passing, no TDs and 1 early interception. He looked to wideout Julian Edelman and TE Rob Gronkowski in key situations. Edelman caught 10 passes for 141 yards, most in key situations that moved the chains. That performance earned Edelman his first Super Bowl MVP award. Gronk made the game clincher with a late reception to the Rams 1 yard line before rookie back Sony Michel into the endzone for the game’s sole TD. Michel rushed for 94 yards on 18 carries and 1 TD in another huge postseason performance that balanced the offense.

The real star of the victory was the Patriots defense which totaled 4 sacks, multiple pressures and 1 interception while limiting the Rams string ground game to just 62 yards. That pressure forced the young Goff to constantly face 2nd and 3rd and long situations which played into the Pats’ multiple blitz schemes that never allowed him to settle into a pocket rhyme. That reflected in Goff’s weak 3 for 13 third down efficiency.

The lowest scoring game in SB history will be viewed as another ring in the Patriots long legacy of NFL dominance in an era of Free Agency and salary cap limitations. No other NFL team has come even close to this type of success especially during the past twenty five years with only the Broncos winning back to back SB titles during this period. The Pats look to repeat next year and defend their title in hopes of becoming the only team to win back to back SB championships twice.

Frank Coyle – Publisher / Head Scout

Patrick Mahomes, Aaron Donald & Saquon Barkley Top NFL Awards

Patrick Mahomes, Aaron Donald & Saquon Barkley Top NFL Awards

List of NFL Honors Winners from the 2018 Season

FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year:

Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes
New York Giants RB Saquon Barkley

Pepsi Rookie of the Year: New York Giants RB Saquon Barkley

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019:

Tony Gonzalez, TE – Chiefs
Ed Reed, S – Ravens
Champ Bailey, CB – Redskins
Ty Law, CB – Patriots
Kevin Mawae, C – Jets
Johnny Robinson, S – Chiefs
Pat Bowlen, contributor – Broncos
Gil Brandt, contributor – Cowboys

NFL Awards 2018

AP Most Valuable Player: Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes
AP Offensive Player of the Year: Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes
AP Defensive Player of the Year: Los Angeles Rams DT Aaron Donald

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: New York Giants RB Saquon Barkley
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Indianapolis Colts LB Darius Leonard
AP Comeback Player of the Year:  Indianapolis Colts QB Andrew Luck

AP Coach of the Year:  Chicago Bears coach Matt Nagy
AP Assistant Coach of the Year: Chicago Bears defensive coordinator Vic Fangio

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees
Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Philadelphia Eagles DE Chris Long

Game Changer Award presented by Gillette: Seattle Seahawks LB Shaquem Griffin
Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year:  Los Angeles Rams
Moment of the Year: Aaron Rodgers’ comeback against Bears in Week 1
Bridgestone Clutch Performance Play of the Year: The Miami Miracle

Deacon Jones Award: Los Angeles Rams DT Aaron Donald
Touchdown Celebration of the Year: Seattle Seahawks – Choreography
Salute To Service Award Presented by USAA: Atlanta Falcons G Ben Garland
Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award: Gabe Infante, St. Joseph’s Prep
Courtyard Unstoppable Performance of the Year: Los Angeles Rams QB Jared Goff

 (732) 842-4749
Draft Insiders’ Digest – 28th season