Heisman Trophy Award 2018

Heisman Trophy Award 2018

The Heisman Trophy award will be announced Saturday night at the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City. Three underclassmen, Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa, Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray and Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins will hoist the most prestigious individual award in American sports. This year the winner will have to prevail in what is expected to be one of the closest voting in the history of the award.

The difference between first and second place finalists has been huge in recent years. It has only been below 300 total points  twice in the past decade. In 2011, Robert Griffin III topped Andrew Luck 1,687-1,407 while in 2015 Derrick Henry edged Christian McCaffrey 1,832-1,539.

All three QB finalists this year produced historic seasons and were instrumental in their schools earning and winning major conference championships.

Frank Coyle’s vote
(Frank Coyle has been a voter in the Heisman Trophy for over 25 years)

1 QB Tua Tagovailoa – Alabama
2 QB Kyler Murray – Oklahoma
3 QB Dwayne Haskins – Ohio St

2018 Season

Tua Tagovailoa – Alabama
Yards   TD        Int         Comp% QBR
3353     37         4          67.7      94.2

Yards   TD        YPC
190       5          4.0
Kyler Murray – Oklahoma
Yards   TD        Int   Comp%      QBR
4053     40         7          70.9      96.0

YDS     TD        YPC
892       11         7.3

Dwayne Haskins
Yards   TD        Int         Comp% QBR
4580     47         8          70.2      86.9

Yards   TDs      YPC
122       4          1.7

Heisman Memorial Trophy Winners
Year   Player            School
2017     Baker Mayfield  Oklahoma
2016     Lamar Jackson Louisville
2015     Derrick Henry    Alabama
2014     Marcus Mariota Oregon
2013     Jameis Winston Florida State
2012     Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
2011     Robert Griffin III Baylor
2010     Cam Newton     Auburn
2009     Mark Ingram II   Alabama
2008     Sam Bradford   Oklahoma
2007     Tim Tebow        Florida
2006     Troy Smith        Ohio State
2004     Matt Leinart       USC
2003     Jason White      Oklahoma
2002     Carson Palmer  USC
2001     Eric Crouch       Nebraska
2000     Chris Weinke     Florida State
1999     Ron Dayne        Wisconsin
1998     Ricky Williams   Texas
1997     Charles Woodson         Michigan
1996     Danny Wuerffel Florida
1995     Eddie George    Ohio State
1994     Rashaan Salaam           Colorado
1993     Charlie Ward     Florida State
1992     Gino Torretta     Miami
1991     Desmond Howard          Michigan
1990     Ty Detmer         BYU
1989     Andre Ware       Houston
1988     Barry Sanders   Oklahoma State
1987     Tim Brown        Notre Dame

Frank Coyle is a longtime member of the FWAA and a voter for the Heisman Trophy, Outland Trophy, Bronko Nagurski, Jim Thorpe, Fred Biletnikoff and Eddie Robinson awards annually for 25 years.