Walter Payton Award 2021 Watch List – FCS Offensive Player of Year

Walter Payton Award 2021 Watch List

UNI football’s Trevor Penning is the first offensive lineman to be named to this year’s Walter Payton Award watch list.

Penning was among 11 players added today, which now includes 46 players. The 2021 Stats Perform FCS Walter Payton Award is presented annually to the national offensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision.

Trevor Penning is our #1 small college prospect and a potential high draft selection. He is scheduled to play in the 2022 Senior Bowl in Mobile, Alabama.

For the 2021-22 Award Calendar- Player & Coach Awards – Go to

The Payton Award is celebrating its 35th anniversary season. It’s named for the legendary Hall of Fame running back. Past recipients include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, Jimmy Garoppolo, Cooper Kupp and Trey Lance.

Penning became the first Panther to earn the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Lineman of the Week award Oct. 25 following UNI’s win over No. 6 South Dakota State. He also earned MVFC First Team Preseason honors.

Newest members by position:

Davis Alexander, Portland State
Ren Hefley, Presbyterian
Keon Howard, UT Martin
Cole Johnson, James Madison
Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State
Jason Shelley, Missouri State
Xavier Shepherd, Kennesaw State

Running Back
Malik Grant, Sacred Heart
Isaiah Ifanse, Montana State

Wide Receiver
Xavier Gipson, Stephen F. Austin

Offensive Line
Trevor Penning, UNI



image_printPrinter Friendly