2023 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

2023 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

Tallahassee, FL – The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the prestigious Biletnikoff Award, released the 2023 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.

Photo – Marvin Harrison – Ohio State (courtesy of school)

Frank Coyle rates Marvin Harrison the #1 prospect for the NFL Draft 2024 regardless of position. Harrison heads a strong Biletnikoff class which should have a huge impact on the 2023 college season at one of the game’s elite impact positions.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season’s outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

The 2022 Biletnikoff Award winner and unanimous 1st-team All-America was Jalin Hyatt of Tennessee. Frank Coyle voted for Hyatt last year. Hyatt was drafted in the 3rd round by the New York Giants and was one of the top values in the NFL Draft 2023.

Frank Coyle is a long-time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long-time member of the FWAA and voter in college player awards – Heisman, Biletnikoff, Thorpe, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi etc for the past 30 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a consultant to many NFL player agents related to all levels of preparation for the NFL Draft process. He was a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year-round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.

The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of 650 prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see BiletnikoffAward.com/voters.

Receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at BiletnikoffAward.com/criteria.

2024 Biletnikoff Award keynote speaker and College Football Hall of Famer Danny Wuerffel

During his senior year in 1996, Danny Wuerffel won the Heisman Trophy while leading the Florida Gators to their first national championship. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2013. He received the Draddy Trophy, which is presented annually by the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete. His career pass efficiency rating of 163.56 was the best in major college history and his percentage of passes which went for a touchdown (9.74) ranked first in collegiate history.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The 2023 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

   Additional receivers will be added as their season performances dictate

Alex Adams, Akron
Elijhah Badger, Arizona State
Brock Bowers, Georgia
Jerand Bradley, Texas Tech
Jalon Calhoun, Duke
Dante Cephas, Penn State
De’Corian Clark, UTSA
Keon Coleman, Florida State
Malachi Corley, WKU
Jacob Cowing, Arizona
Corey Crooms Jr., Minnesota
Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State
Zakhari Franklin, Ole Miss
Troy Franklin, Oregon
Oronde Gadsden II, Syracuse
Corey Gammage, UCF
Tre Harris, Ole Miss
Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
Khaleb Hood, Georgia Southern
Tory Horton, Colorado State
Tyrone Howell, ULM
Jeremiah Hunter, California
Ali Jennings III, Virginia Tech
Tez Johnson, Oregon
Caullin Lacy, South Alabama
Jaylin Lane, Virginia Tech
Dominic Lovett, Georgia
Ladd McConkey, Georgia
Jalen McMillan, Washington
Malik Nabers, LSU
Jerjuan Newton, Toledo
Rome Odunze, Washington
Ryan O’Keefe, Boston College
Sam Pinckney, Coastal Carolina
Brennan Presley, Oklahoma State
Bradley Rozner, NC State
Will Sheppard, Vanderbilt
Dorian Singer, USC
Tyrin Smith, UTEP
Elijah Spencer, Minnesota
J.Michael Sturdivant, UCLA
Jamari Thrash, Louisville
Devin Voisin, South Alabama
Devontez Walker, North Carolina
Tahj Washington, USC
Antwane Wells Jr., South Carolina
Sam Wiglusz, Ohio
Johnny Wilson, Florida State
Xavier Worthy, Texas

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season’s outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot or inside receiver, wingback, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award.


Important Dates

August 7, 2023:
Preseason Watch List announcement

Sept. 27, 2023:
FanVote opens

Nov. 13 – 19, 2023:
Vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee to determine Semifinalists

Nov. 20, 2023:
Semifinalists announcement

Nov. 20 – 25, 2023:
Vote to determine 3 Finalists

Nov. 28, 2023:
3 Finalists announcement

Nov. 28 – Dec. 2, 2023:
Final vote to determine Biletnikoff Award Winner

Dec. 7, 2023:
Biletnikoff Award Winner announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards
The Home Depot College Football Awards airs live on ESPN Dec. 7, 2023, 7 – 8:30 PM (EST)

The Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration honors the 2021 Biletnikoff Award Winner on Saturday, March 9, 2024
The Dunlap Champions Club at Doak Campbell Stadium, Tallahassee, Florida

image_printPrinter Friendly