Doak Walker Award Watch List

Doak Walker Award Watch List – Backs, Braelon Allen, Blake Corum & Raheim Sanders Head List

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced the Doak Walker Preseason Watch list which consisted of 75 players. Heading the list is Wisconsin’s Braelon Allen, Michigan’s Blake Corum and Arkansas’s Raheim Sanders. The junior Allen will attempt to rush for his third straight 1200+ yards this fall. He fits the mold of great Badger running backs. He will get heavy competition especially from Corum and Sanders who totaled over 1400+ yards last fall.

Photo – Braelon Allen – Wisconsin / Las Vegas Bowl MVP 2021
(AP Photo/Stacy Bengs)

The Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee comprises past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members, and selected special representatives.

Frank Coyle is a long-time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long-time member of the FWAA and voter in college player awards – Heisman, Biletnikoff, Thorpe, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi etc for the past 30 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a consultant to many NFL player agents related to all levels of preparation for the NFL Draft process. He was a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year-round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.

The 2023 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back, Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Doak Walker 2023 Award Watch List

Rasheen Ali, Marshall
Braelon Allen, Wisconsin
Kaytron Allen, Penn State
LeQuint Allen, Syracuse
Emani Bailey, TCU
Sieh Bangura, Ohio
Jovantae Barnes, Oklahoma
Kevorian Barnes, UTSA
Trey Benson, Florida State
Tahj Brooks, Texas Tech
Antario Brown, NIU
Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB
Noah Cain, LSU
Marcus Carroll, Georgia State
Blake Corum, Michigan
Marquis Crosby, Louisiana Tech
CJ Donaldson Jr., West Virginia
Donovan Edwards, Michigan
Justice Ellison, Wake Forest
Davion Ervin-Poindexter, WKU
Audric Estime’, Notre Dame
Samson Evans, Eastern Michigan
Pat Garwo, Boston College
Rodney Hammond Jr., Pitt
Deion Hankins, UTEP
Rahjai Harris, East Carolina
RJ Harvey, UCF
Roman Hemby, Maryland
TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State
Daniel Hishaw Jr., Kansas
George Holani, Boise State
Bucky Irving, Oregon
Kaleb Johnson, Iowa
Kobe Johnson, Colorado State
Austin Jones, USC
Jawhar Jordan, Louisville
Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
Reggie Love III, Illinois
Jaylin Lucas, Indiana
Jo’Quavious Marks, Mississippi State
Damien Martinez, Oregon State
Tony Mathis Jr., Houston
Alton McCaskill, Colorado
Josh McCray, Illinois
Chez Mellusi, Wisconsin
Devin Mockobee, Purdue
Devin Neal, Kansas
Nate Noel, App State
Jaydn Ott, Cal
Frank Peasant, Middle Tennessee
Richard Reese, Baylor
Aidan Robbins, BYU
Kairee Robinson, San Jose State
Raheim Sanders, Arkansas
Trey Sanders, TCU
Will Shipley, Clemson
Nicholas Singleton, Penn State
Cam Skattebo, Arizona State
Jabari Small, Tennessee
Dontae Smith, Georgia Tech
E.J. Smith, Stanford
Kavosiey Smoke, Colorado
Carson Steele, UCLA
Bhayshul Tuten, Virginia Tech
Kimani Vidal, Troy
Treshaun Ward, Kansas State
Dre’lyn Washington, Louisiana
Nakia Watson, Washington State
La’Damian Webb, South Alabama
Noah Whittington, Oregon
Michael Wiley, Arizona
Sy’veon Wilkerson, Colorado
Josh Williams, LSU
Miyan Williams, Ohio State
Jaylen Wright, Tennessee

image_printPrinter Friendly