Biletnikoff Award – Semi-Finalist Vote

Biletnikoff Award – Semi-Finalist Vote

Frank Coyle

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the season’s outstanding FBS receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

Biletnikoff Award Important Dates

August 7, 2023:
Preseason Watch List announcement

Sept. 27:
FanVote opens

Nov. 13 – 19:
Vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee to determine Semifinalists

Nov. 20:
Semi-finalists announcement

Nov. 20 – 25:
Vote to determine 3 Finalists

Nov. 28:
3 Finalists announcement

Nov. 28 – Dec. 2:
Final vote to determine Biletnikoff Award Winner

Dec. 8:
Biletnikoff Award Winner announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards
The Home Depot College Football Awards airs live on ESPN Dec. 8, 2023, 7 – 8:30 PM (EST)

The Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration
honors the 2023 Biletnikoff Award Winner on Saturday, March 9, 2024, at the Dunlap Champions Club at Doak Campbell Stadium, Tallahassee, Florida

Semi-Finalist Vote for the Biletnikoff Award – Frank Coyle

Nov 19, 2023

1st Choice – Malik Nabers, LSU
2nd Choice – Rome Odunze, Washington
3rd Choice – Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
4th Choice – Keon Coleman, Florida State
5th Choice – Brian Thomas Jr., LSU
6th Choice – Troy Franklin, Oregon
7th Choice – Xavier Legette, South Carolina
8th Choice – Luther Burden III, Missouri
9th Choice – Jacob Cowing, Arizona
10th Choice – Reggie Brown, James Madison

Fred Biletnikoff History
He was a 6-1, 190-pounder with excellent hands and deceptive speed who caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 TDs during his 14-year career with the Oakland Raiders from 1965 through 1978. At the time of his retirement, Fred not only dominated the Raiders’ record book for pass receiving but he owned several significant NFL marks as well. Along with another Hall of Fame receiver, Raymond Berry, Fred held the record for having caught 40 or more passes in 10 consecutive seasons. His 70 receptions, 1,167 yards receiving and 10 touchdowns in 19 post-season games were also NFL post-season career records.

The talented pass-catcher came to the Raiders as their #2 draft pick in 1965. A 1964 All-America at Florida State, Biletnikoff caught four touchdown passes in his team’s Gator Bowl victory over Oklahoma. He also played in the College All-Star game before reporting to the Raiders’ training camp. Biletnikoff started as a special teams player and did not see action as a flanker until the seventh game of his rookie campaign.

When he did get a chance to start, he responded with a seven-catch, 118-yard performance and, in the process, became a regular for good. A durable, dependable performer, Biletnikoff missed only eight games because of injury in 14 seasons. Biletnikoff, a native of Erie, PA, reached the zenith of a career filled with outstanding achievements when he caught four passes for 79 yards to set up three Oakland scores in the Raiders’ 32-14 victory in Super Bowl XI. He was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

Fred was an All-AFL pick in that league’s final 1969 season, earned All-Pro honors in 1972, and won All-AFC acclaim in 1970, 1972 and 1973. He played in two AFL All-Star games and four AFC-NFC Pro Bowl games as well as three AFL and five AFC championship games, plus Super Bowls II and XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation is proud that Fred Biletnikoff’s name is identified with the prestigious national college football receiver’s award. A perusal of Biletnikoff’s accomplishment indicates why, to many, the name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., is a 501(c)(3) organization, is the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award. The Foundation administers the Biletnikoff Award, its charitable activities, and the distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Foundation Trustees are prohibited from serving on the National Selection Committee. For a full recounting of the Foundation’s activities, please consult

Frank Coyle is a long-time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts, recruiters and player agents. He is a long-time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards – Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe, Biletnikoff etc for the past 28 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He was a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN and Sporting News on a year-round basis related to NFL and College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.

image_printPrinter Friendly